Skip to Content Skip to Navigation
Education & Curriculum

Let’s Talk About the Early Years Learning Framework

June 15, 2021
hero--Let’s Talk About the Early Years Learning Framework

As a new parent, the search for the right childcare for your child can be overwhelming. On top of the usual influences, such as general health and safety, location and extra curricular activities, so to comes the additional research into each centre’s curriculum and early learning programs. The educational program at each early learning centre is essential in providing your children with access to a holistic, individualised learning journey. 

The Early Years Learning Framework (EYLF) was developed in 2009 and is the first national framework for early childhood educators. The Council of Australian Governments (COAG) developed the Framework to assist in the development of children’s learning and success, to contribute to the COAG’s vision that:

“All children have the best start in life to create a better future for themselves and for the nation”

So, what exactly is the EYLF and why do you see it so often in your search for the perfect early learning centre?

The EYLF is used within Long Day Care Centres and Family Day Care Services for all Australian states (other than Victoria) and applies to children between the ages of 0-5 years. 

The Victorian Early Years Learning and Development Framework (or VEYLDF) – is the framework approved for Victorian Child Care Settings for children aged birth to 8 years. The vision and purpose of the VEYLDF is to guide early childhood professionals in a collective effort with families toward the achievement of the nationally agreed Early Years Learning Outcomes, which are the same for both the EYLF and the VEYLDF. 

Image source:

Both the EYLF and VEYLDF Frameworks share the same concepts of guiding early childhood professionals in a collective effort with families towards the achievement of the nationally agreed learning outcomes. Also, the vision of the Frameworks are similar; in that even before birth, each child is linked to family, community, culture and have important relationships with people in their lives. Through these strong and supportive relationships, a child’s development and learning takes place as they begin to explore, develop interests, create their own identity, and make meaning of the world around them.

Listed below are the five (5) learning outcomes shared by both the EYLF and VEYLDF. These are utilised as goals for growing children to achieve:

  • Children have a strong sense of identity
  • Children are connected with and contribute to their world
  • Children have a strong sense of wellbeing
  • Children are confident and involved learners
  • Children are effective communicators

The EYLF and VEYLDF and their five learning outcomes will be explored in greater detail in future articles.

Photo & Source: 

Author:  Natalie Roberts